Revealed: 2019 World Car of the Year finalists

Revealed: 2019 World Car of the Year finalists

by Helen Jackson |
posted 27 February 2019

A jury of 86 distinguished international automotive journalists have selected the finalists for this year’s World Car Awards. The winners are officially declared in all six categories at an awards ceremony that officially opens the New York show on April 17, 2019.

The awards were inaugurated in 2003, and officially launched in January 2004, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace, as well as to recognize and reward automotive excellence on an international scale.   The awards are intended to complement, not compete, with existing national and regional Car of the Year programs.

Categories for 2019 include the World Performance Car, World Urban Car and the 2019 World Luxury Car. There is also the World Green Car category.

The 2019 World Car of the Year winner will be selected from the following 10 finalists that were chosen from an initial list of 40 contenders.  The Top Ten World Car of the Year finalists are, in alphabetical order:

  • Audi e-tron
  • BMW 3 Series
  • Ford Focus
  • Genesis G70
  • Hyundai Nexo
  • Jaguar I-PACE
  • Mercedes-Benz A-Class
  • Suzuki Jimny
  • Volvo S60/V60
  • Volvo XC40

The Road to World Car is an annual journey in partnership with the New York International Show. The journey follows more than 80 of our international journalists as they test-drive, and vote on, the 2019 eligible vehicles. It makes several stops along the way including the Geneva Motor Show in March where the ‘Top Three in The World’ finalists will be announced along with the 2019 World Car Person of the Year.


Helen Jackson
Helen Jackson

Helen is part of the marketing team here at Money4yourMotors. Helen oversees a wide range of marketing activities including social media and content creation.